Fibroblasts neurotrophin signaling sustains pathological vascular maturation in rheumatoid arthritis.

Methods completeness

Major revisionpanel verdict · 2026-09-03

Methods Completeness & Reagent Traceability Audit

Triggered Categories

The following checklist categories are triggered by content in the manuscript:

  1. Antibodies/immunodetection (WB, IHC, IF, RNAscope, ELISA)
  2. Cell lines/primary cells (synovial fibroblasts, HUVECs)
  3. Human subjects/clinical (synovial tissue biopsies, IRB approval)
  4. Chemicals/drugs/dosing (neurotrophins, inhibitors, agonists)
  5. Oligos/plasmids/constructs (siRNA, CRISPR-Cas9, lentiviral vectors)
  6. Genomics/sequencing/omics (Xenium spatial transcriptomics, bulk RNA-seq, scRNA-seq reference)
  7. Microscopy/imaging (RNAscope, immunofluorescence, immunohistochemistry, whole-mount staining)
  8. Cross-cutting (sample size, statistics, software versions, data availability)

Cross-Cutting Items

Sample Size and Replication

ItemStatusFinding
Xenium cohort nPRESENT22 RA patients + 2 healthy donors, 46 total samples (paired pre/post for RA patients); 2,049,358 high-quality cells analyzed. Stated in Methods and Figure 1 legend.
Cell culture experiments: n replicatesMISSING (HARD)Figures 3, 4, 5, 6 and supplementary figures show bar plots with individual data points labeled "biological replicates" but no explicit statement of how many replicates per condition (e.g., n=3, n=5). Figures S4, S6, S8, S9 similarly lack stated n. This is critical for reproducibility of in vitro work.
Synovial explant experiments: n replicatesMISSING (HARD)Figure 6 (TRK inhibitor experiments) and Figure 4K show explant data with "individual data points represent biological replicates" but no explicit n per treatment group. How many patient samples? How many technical replicates per sample?
Organoid/micromass experiments: n replicatesMISSING (HARD)Figures S5, S9 state "individual data points represent biological replicates" but do not specify n.

Statistical Tests and Error Bars

ItemStatusFinding
Error bar definitionPRESENTConsistently stated as "mean ± standard deviation (SD)" in figure legends (e.g., Figures 4, 6, S5, S9).
Statistical test namingPRESENTTests named throughout: Wilcoxon matched-pairs signed-rank test (Figure 1G–H), two-tailed Student's t-test, one-way ANOVA with Bonferroni post-hoc correction. Stated in figure legends and Methods.
P-value reportingPRESENTP-values shown on graphs and in text (e.g., "p = 0.029", "p = 0.0031").

Software, Tools, and Instrument Versions

ItemStatusFinding
Xenium platformPRESENT"Xenium 5K Prime platform" named; protocols cited (CG000760 Rev A, CG000584 Rev F, CG000613 Rev A).
Seurat versionPRESENT"Seurat v5.0.0" stated in Methods.
Harmony versionPRESENT"Harmony v1.2.4" stated in Methods.
UCell versionPRESENT"R package UCell" with GitHub link provided; used for signature scoring.
Cellpose versionPRESENT"Cellpose" cited (ref 48); version not explicitly stated in Methods.
scikit-image versionPRESENT"scikit-image" cited (ref 49); version not explicitly stated.
ImageJ versionPRESENT"ImageJ" named in Methods; version not stated.
GraphPad Prism versionPRESENT"GraphPad Prism version 10.4.1" stated in Statistical Analysis section.
R software versionMISSING (SOFT)"R software" mentioned for single-cell analyses; version not stated.
EVOS microscope modelPRESENT"EVOS M7000" named for imaging.
AriaMX qPCR instrumentPRESENT"AriaMX Real Time PCR machine (Agilent)" named.
Bio-Rad imaging systemPRESENT"Bio-Rad ChemiDoc imaging system" named for Western blots.

Data Availability

ItemStatusFinding
Data availability statementMISSING (HARD)No explicit data availability statement in the manuscript. No mention of where Xenium data, bulk RNA-seq data, or processed datasets will be deposited (GEO, Zenodo, etc.). This is critical for spatial transcriptomics and RNA-seq work.
Code availability statementMISSING (HARD)No statement on code availability. Custom analysis pipelines (Seurat integration, UCell scoring, spatial analysis) are described but no GitHub repository, Zenodo link, or supplementary code is mentioned.
Supplementary tables/dataPRESENTTables S1–S3 referenced (neurotrophin receptor panel genes, RNAscope probes, primer list) but not shown in the provided manuscript text. Assumed to be available.

Antibodies/Immunodetection

Western Blotting

Antibody/ReagentVendorCatalog #CloneHost/ClonalityApplicationDilutionStatus
TrkA, TrkB, p-TrkA/TrkBCell Signaling Technology#4638Not statedNot statedWB1:500UNVERIFIABLE
CNN1 (calponin)Proteintech#24855-1-APNot statedNot statedWBNot statedMISSING (HARD)
MYH11Proteintech#21404-1-APNot statedNot statedWBNot statedMISSING (HARD)
NGFAbcam#ab52918Not statedNot statedWBNot statedMISSING (HARD)
GAPDHThermo Fisher Scientific#MA5-15738Not statedNot statedWBNot statedMISSING (HARD)
β-actinCell Signaling Technology#3700Not statedNot statedWBNot statedMISSING (HARD)
HRP-conjugated anti-RabbitThermo Fisher Scientific#32460Not statedNot statedWB (secondary)Not statedMISSING (HARD)
HRP-conjugated anti-MouseThermo Fisher Scientific#31430Not statedNot statedWB (secondary)Not statedMISSING (HARD)
HRP-conjugated anti-GoatThermo Fisher Scientific#A16005Not statedNot statedWB (secondary)Not statedMISSING (HARD)

Finding: Dilutions for most primary antibodies in Western blotting are not stated. Secondary antibody dilutions are not stated. Host species and clonality are not provided for any antibody. This blocks reproducibility of WB protocols.

Immunohistochemistry (IHC)

AntibodyVendorCatalog #ApplicationStatus
α-SMA (smooth muscle actin)Not statedNot statedIHCMISSING (HARD)
PECAM1 (CD31)Not statedNot statedIHCMISSING (HARD)
NGFRNot statedNot statedIHCMISSING (HARD)
TRKANot statedNot statedIHCMISSING (HARD)
TRKBNot statedNot statedIHCMISSING (HARD)
TRKCNot statedNot statedIHCMISSING (HARD)

Finding: IHC section states "Primary antibodies against smooth muscle actin (SMA), PECAM, NGFR, TRKA, TRKB, and TRKC...were used according to standard protocols at Brigham and Women's Hospital Pathology Core." No vendor, catalog #, clone, dilution, or host species provided. This is delegated to an institutional core facility, but the specific antibodies used are not traceable. Status: MISSING (HARD).

Immunofluorescence (IF) / Whole-Mount Staining

AntibodyVendorCatalog #CloneHostApplicationDilutionStatus
NGFRCell Signaling Technology#4638Not statedNot statedIFNot statedMISSING (HARD)
NTRK1Cell Signaling Technology#4638Not statedNot statedIFNot statedMISSING (HARD)
NTRK2Cell Signaling Technology#4638Not statedNot statedIFNot statedMISSING (HARD)
NTRK3Cell Signaling Technology#4638Not statedNot statedIFNot statedMISSING (HARD)
MYH11Proteintech#21404-1-APNot statedNot statedIFNot statedMISSING (HARD)
CD31Biolegend#303106Not statedNot statedIFNot statedMISSING (HARD)
AF555 anti-rabbitThermo Fisher#A-21424Not statedNot statedIF (secondary)Not statedMISSING (HARD)
AF488 anti-rabbitThermo Fisher#A11034Not statedNot statedIF (secondary)Not statedMISSING (HARD)
AF555 anti-goatThermo Fisher#A110055Not statedNot statedIF (secondary)Not statedMISSING (HARD)
AF647 anti-rabbitThermo Fisher#A32733Not statedNot statedIF (secondary)Not statedMISSING (HARD)

Finding: Primary and secondary antibody dilutions for whole-mount IF are not stated. Host species and clonality missing for all. This is a HARD missing for reproducibility.

RNAscope (In Situ Hybridization)

Probe TargetVendorCatalog # / Assay IDStatus
NGFR, NTRK1, NTRK2, NTRK3, MYH11, RGS5, ACTA2, NGF, NOTCH3, PECAM1, and othersACD BioTable 2 (referenced but not shown in provided text)UNVERIFIABLE

Finding: RNAscope probes are referenced in "Table 2: RNAScope probe List" but the table is not provided in the manuscript text. Probe catalog numbers and assay IDs cannot be verified. Status: UNVERIFIABLE (HARD). The manuscript states "Different probes for neurotrophins and mural cell markers were used (provided in Table 2)" but Table 2 is not included.

ELISA

AnalyteVendorCatalog #Status
NGF secretion quantificationNot statedNot statedMISSING (HARD)
BDNF secretionImplied but not explicitly statedNot statedMISSING (HARD)
NT3 secretionImplied but not explicitly statedNot statedMISSING (HARD)

Finding: Figure S3B and Figure 5C show ELISA quantification of NGF secretion (pg/ml) but no ELISA kit vendor, catalog #, or protocol is stated. Status: MISSING (HARD).


Cell Lines and Primary Cells

Synovial Fibroblasts

ItemStatusFinding
SourcePRESENT"Synovial tissue collected after patients undergoing arthroplasty or synovectomy procedures" from Brigham and Women's Hospital and Flinders Medical Center.
RRID/CVCLMISSING (SOFT)No RRID assigned to the fibroblast cell line.
Authentication (STR)MISSING (HARD)No STR profiling or authentication mentioned.
Mycoplasma testingMISSING (HARD)No mycoplasma testing reported.
Culture media/supplementsPRESENT"Complete FLS media (DMEM supplemented with 10% fetal bovine serum, HEPES, MEM amino acids, L-glutamine, penicillin-streptomycin, nonessential MEM amino acids, 2-mercaptoethanol, and gentamicin)."
Passage numberPRESENT"3 to 6 passages for experiments" stated.

Finding: No authentication or mycoplasma testing reported. Status: MISSING (HARD).

HUVECs (Human Umbilical Vein Endothelial Cells)

ItemStatusFinding
SourcePRESENT"HUVECs (Thermofisher)" stated.
RRID/CVCLMISSING (SOFT)No RRID provided. Thermofisher catalog # not given.
AuthenticationMISSING (HARD)No authentication mentioned.
Mycoplasma testingMISSING (HARD)Not reported.
Culture mediaPRESENT"EGM2 media consisting of EGM-Plus media (Lonza # CC-5035) supplemented with the EGM-plus bulletkit (Lonza, cc-3162)."
Passage numberPRESENT"Passage 3-7" stated in co-culture methods.

Finding: No authentication or mycoplasma testing. Thermofisher catalog # for HUVECs not provided. Status: MISSING (HARD).


Human Subjects and Clinical

ItemStatusFinding
IRB approvalPRESENT"Brigham and Women's Hospital (MGB IRB no. 2019P002924) and Flinders Medical Center (Protocol#396.10)" stated.
Informed consentMISSING (HARD)No explicit statement that informed consent was obtained.
Inclusion/exclusion criteriaMISSING (HARD)Not stated. What defines "RA patient"? What are exclusion criteria?
Participant demographicsPARTIAL"22 RA patients and 2 healthy donors" stated; no age, sex, disease duration, medication history, or other demographics provided.
Clinical outcome measuresPRESENTDAS28-ESR < 2.6 mentioned as remission criterion; treatment regimens (triple csDMARD or TNFi) described.
Treatment durationPRESENT"6-month post-treatment" stated.
Trial registrationN/ANot an interventional trial; observational study of existing biopsies.

Finding: No explicit informed consent statement. Inclusion/exclusion criteria not defined. Participant demographics (age, sex, disease duration, baseline disease activity) not provided. Status: MISSING (HARD) for consent and criteria; MISSING (SOFT) for demographics.


Chemicals, Drugs, and Dosing

Neurotrophins

ReagentVendorCatalog #CAS / IdentityConcentration/DoseVehicleStatus
NGF (recombinant)R&D Systems#256-GFNot stated1, 100 ng/mlDMSO or PBSPRESENT
BDNF (recombinant)R&D Systems#11166-BDNot stated100 ng/mlPBSPRESENT
NT3 (recombinant)R&D Systems#267-N3-005Not stated50, 100 ng/mlPBSPRESENT

Finding: Vendor and catalog # present; final vehicle concentration not stated (e.g., final % DMSO in culture media). Status: PRESENT but SOFT missing on final vehicle concentration.

Small-Molecule Inhibitors

DrugVendorCatalog #TargetConcentrationStatus
GW-441756 (TrkA inhibitor)Tocris#2238TrkA1, 5, 10 µMPRESENT
ANA-12 (TrkB inhibitor)Tocris#4781TrkB1, 5, 10 µMPRESENT
GNF-5837 (TrkA/B/C inhibitor)Tocris#4559TrkA/B/C1, 5, 10 µMPRESENT
Entrectinib (TRK inhibitor)MedChemExpress#HY-12678NTRK1/2/3Not explicitly stated for all experimentsPARTIAL
Larotrectinib (TRK inhibitor)MedChemExpress#HY-12866NTRK1/2/3Not explicitly stated for all experimentsPARTIAL
DAPT (γ-secretase inhibitor)Tocris#2634NOTCH10 µMPRESENT

Finding: Entrectinib and larotrectinib concentrations not explicitly stated for all experiments (e.g., Figure 6 explant experiments). Cell viability assay (Figure S9B) tests 0–100 µM but the concentration used in explant experiments is not stated. Status: PARTIAL/MISSING (HARD) for entrectinib and larotrectinib in explant experiments.

Neurotrophin Agonists

DrugVendorCatalog #TargetConcentrationStatus
LM22B-10 (TrkB/C agonist)Tocris#6037TrkB/C1, 5, 10 µMPRESENT
7,8-DHF (TrkB agonist)Tocris#3826TrkB1, 5, 10 µMPRESENT

Finding: Concentrations stated. Status: PRESENT.

Other Reagents

ReagentVendorCatalog #UseStatus
DLL4-Fc (NOTCH ligand)R&D Systems#10185-D4Fibroblast stimulationPRESENT (5 µg/ml)
MatrigelCorning#356231Organoid embeddingPRESENT
WST-1 (cell viability)Millipore Sigma#501594400Viability assayPRESENT
Dispase IISigma#494207801Tissue digestionPRESENT (100 µg/ml)
DNase ISigma#10104159001Tissue digestionPRESENT (100 µg/ml)
Liberase TLSigma#5401020001Tissue digestionPRESENT (100 µg/ml)

Finding: Concentrations and vendors generally present. Status: PRESENT.


Oligos, Plasmids, and Constructs

siRNA

TargetVendorAssay ID / Catalog #SequenceStatus
NGFRThermo Scientific#S194655Not providedMISSING (HARD)
NTRK1Thermo Scientific#S534734Not providedMISSING (HARD)
NTRK2Thermo Scientific#n321595Not providedMISSING (HARD)
NTRK3Thermo Scientific#s9753Not providedMISSING (HARD)
NOTCH3Thermo Scientific#106100Not providedMISSING (HARD)

Finding: siRNA target sequences not provided. Assay IDs given but sequences needed for verification and off-target assessment. Status: MISSING (HARD).

CRISPR-Cas9

TargetMethodDeliveryCas VariantValidationStatus
NOTCH3CRISPR-Cas9P3 primary cell 4D-nucleofector X kit S (#V4XP-3032, Lonza)Not stated (assumed SpCas9)Not statedMISSING (HARD)
Guide RNA designSynthego design toolNot statedN/ANot statedUNVERIFIABLE

Finding: Cas variant not explicitly stated (assumed SpCas9 but not confirmed). Guide RNA sequences not provided. No validation of knockout (e.g., Western blot, sequencing) shown in main text or supplementary. Status: MISSING (HARD) for gRNA sequences and validation.

Lentiviral Vectors

| Construct | Vendor | Catalog # / ID | Insert | Promoter | Selection | Status | |---|---|---|---|---|---| | pLV-BsdCMV-hNGFR (N-terminal GFP-tag) | VectorBuilder | #VB230823-1657hvq | NGFR | CMV | Blasticidin | PRESENT | | pLV-Bsd-CMV-EGFP (control) | VectorBuilder | #VB230502-1039MVR | EGFP | CMV | Blasticidin | PRESENT | | Packaging mix | Thermo Fisher (Virapower) | Part of kit | N/A | N/A | N/A | PRESENT |

Finding: Vector IDs and vendors present. Status: PRESENT.

Primers for qPCR

GeneForward Primer SequenceReverse Primer SequenceStatus
All genesNot provided in manuscriptNot provided in manuscriptMISSING (HARD)

Finding: "The primer list is provided in Table 1" but Table 1 is not shown in the provided manuscript text. Primer sequences cannot be verified. Status: UNVERIFIABLE (HARD).


Genomics, Sequencing, and Omics

Xenium Spatial Transcriptomics

ParameterValueStatus
PlatformXenium 5K Prime (10X Genomics)PRESENT
Sample typeFFPE synovial tissue biopsiesPRESENT
PanelXenium Prime 5K Human Pan Tissue & Pathways Panel (PN-1000671) + custom add-on panelsPRESENT
Custom panel genes"Genes encoding neurotrophin receptors" (Table S1–S3 referenced but not shown)UNVERIFIABLE
Cell segmentationCellpose (ref 48)PRESENT
Total cells analyzed2,049,358 high-quality cellsPRESENT
Vascular cells subset368,217 cellsPRESENT
Quality control thresholds"Thresholded based on transcripts and features per cell; kept 2 million high quality cells"VAGUE
Integration methodHarmony v1.2.4PRESENT
Downstream analysis toolsSeurat v5.0.0, Wilcoxon rank sum test (presto package)PRESENT
Reference datasetAMP RA/SLE Consortium scRNA-seqPRESENT (ref 17)
Batch handlingIntegrated over "sample-specific effects in PC using Harmony"PRESENT
Data repositoryNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Accession numberNot statedMISSING (HARD)

Finding:

  • QC thresholds vague ("kept 2 million high quality cells" — what were the exclusion criteria?).
  • Custom panel genes (Tables S1–S3) not provided in manuscript.
  • No data repository or accession number stated. Xenium data must be deposited in GEO or similar.
  • Status: MISSING (HARD) for data availability; UNVERIFIABLE for custom panel composition; VAGUE for QC thresholds.

Bulk RNA-Sequencing (NGFR-overexpressing fibroblasts)

ParameterValueStatus
PlatformNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Library prep kitNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Read length / modeNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Sequencing depthNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Reference genomeNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Alignment toolNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Differential expression analysis"Identified drug response markers with differential expression analysis; top differentially expressed gene sets used to define NGFR-related gene markers"VAGUE
Repository accessionNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Figure 5J output"461 upregulated genes" listed in RNA-seq of NGFR-overexpressing fibroblastsPRESENT (but no raw data)

Finding: Bulk RNA-seq methods are severely under-specified. No platform, library prep, depth, reference genome, alignment tool, or repository accession provided. Figure 5J shows a heatmap of differentially expressed genes but the underlying data and analysis pipeline are not described. Status: MISSING (HARD) for all major parameters.

Single-Cell RNA-Seq Reference (AMP RA/SLE Consortium)

ParameterValueStatus
CitationRef 17 (Zhang et al., Nature 2023)PRESENT
Data availabilityAssumed in GEO (not verified from manuscript)UNVERIFIABLE

Finding: Reference dataset is published (ref 17) and presumably available, but the manuscript does not state where or provide an accession number. Status: UNVERIFIABLE.


Microscopy and Imaging

RNAscope (In Situ Hybridization)

ParameterValueStatus
InstrumentEVOS M7000PRESENT
Assay kitRNAScope multiplex fluorescent V2 (ACD Bio, SOP 45-009A)PRESENT
ProbesTable 2 (not provided)UNVERIFIABLE
Magnification20x stated for some imagesPARTIAL
Objective NANot statedMISSING (SOFT)
Detector typeNot statedMISSING (SOFT)
Fluorophore panelNot explicitly stated (implied: DAPI, red, yellow, green)VAGUE
Image analysis softwareCellpose (nuclei segmentation) + scikit-image (cell boundary expansion) + RANN (distance calculation)PRESENT
Gating/thresholding strategy"Cells with high PECAM1 expression labeled as endothelial cells; cells with high RGS5 and low MYH11 as RGS5+..." (90th percentile threshold)PRESENT

Finding: Probe list (Table 2) not provided. Fluorophore assignments not explicitly stated. Objective NA and detector type not stated. Status: UNVERIFIABLE for probe list; MISSING (SOFT) for optical parameters.

Immunofluorescence (Whole-Mount Staining)

ParameterValueStatus
InstrumentEVOS M7000PRESENT
Magnification1.25x and 4x statedPRESENT
Objective NANot statedMISSING (SOFT)
Detector typeNot statedMISSING (SOFT)
Fluorophore panelAF555, AF488, AF647, DAPIPRESENT
Primary antibody dilutionsNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Secondary antibody dilutionsNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Blocking buffer1% BSA in 0.1% Triton-XPRESENT
Incubation times/tempsPrimary overnight at 4°C; secondary not statedPARTIAL
Image analysis softwareImageJPRESENT
Quantification methodNot detailedMISSING (SOFT)

Finding: Primary and secondary antibody dilutions not stated. Status: MISSING (HARD).

Immunohistochemistry (IHC)

ParameterValueStatus
InstrumentEVOS M7000PRESENT
Magnification20x statedPRESENT
Objective NANot statedMISSING (SOFT)
AntibodiesDelegated to Brigham and Women's Hospital Pathology CoreUNVERIFIABLE
Antibody dilutionsNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Detection method"Standard protocols at Brigham and Women's Hospital Pathology Core"DELEGATED-UNVERIFIABLE
Image analysisImageJPRESENT

Finding: IHC methods delegated to institutional core facility; specific antibodies and dilutions not traceable. Status: DELEGATED-UNVERIFIABLE (HARD).

Collagen Gel Contraction Assay (Figure 4D–F)

ParameterValueStatus
Gel compositionCollagen IPRESENT
Collagen vendor/catalogNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Gel dimensionsNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Cell densityNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Culture durationNot statedMISSING (HARD)
Measurement method"Percent contraction" (Figure 4F)VAGUE
Quantification softwareNot statedMISSING (HARD)

Finding: Collagen gel contraction assay is referenced as "a key function of VSMCs" (ref 12) but the protocol is not detailed in the manuscript. Methods section does not include a dedicated subsection for this assay. Status: DELEGATED-DEAD (HARD). The reference (ref 12) is cited but the manuscript does not provide sufficient detail to reproduce the assay independently.


Protocol Provenance and Delegation

Methods Delegated to Prior Publications

MethodCited ReferenceResolvabilityStatus
Synovial fibroblast cell line generationRef 14DOI/PMID resolvable (Wei et al., Nature 2020)DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE
Synovial tissue organoid generationRef 1Cited as "our previous study"; appears to be a preprint (bioRxiv 2025.03.14.642821)DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE
Collagen gel contraction assayRef 12Romay et al., J Clin Invest 2024 (resolvable)DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE
Xenium data analysis (initial)Ref 1Same preprintDELEGATED-RESOLVABLE
Tissue digestion for fibroblast isolationDescribed in-text with enzyme concentrationsN/ASELF-CONTAINED
CRISPR-Cas9 protocol"According to manufacturer's protocol" (Lonza kit)Lonza protocol resolvableDELEGATED-RESOLVABLE
Lentiviral transduction"Virapower™ HiPerform™ Lentiviral FastTiter™ Gateway® Expression protocol (Thermo Fisher Scientific, #K534000)"Thermo Fisher protocol resolvableDELEGATED-RESOLVABLE

Finding: Most delegated methods are resolvable to published papers or manufacturer protocols. However, some key methods (e.g., collagen gel contraction assay, IHC) are delegated without sufficient in-manuscript detail. Status: Generally DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE, but HARD missing for in-manuscript detail on load-bearing methods.

Deviations from Cited Protocols

MethodCited ProtocolStated DeviationStatus
Xenium analysisRef 1"Expanded the cohort to 22 patients...and included 2 healthy donors"PRESENT (expansion noted)
NOTCH3 knockoutLonza kit protocolNone statedPRESENT (follows manufacturer)
Lentiviral transductionThermo Fisher protocolNone statedPRESENT (follows manufacturer)

Finding: Deviations from cited protocols are generally not explicitly stated, but the manuscript does note expansion of the Xenium cohort. Status: PRESENT for major deviations; SOFT missing for minor procedural variations.


Summary of HARD Missing Items

CategoryItemImpact
Cell cultureBiological replicate numbers (n) for in vitro experimentsCannot reproduce exact experimental design
Cell cultureSynovial fibroblast authentication (STR) and mycoplasma testingCannot verify cell line identity/purity
Cell cultureHUVEC authentication and mycoplasma testingCannot verify cell line identity/purity
Human subjectsInformed consent statementEthical compliance unclear
Human subjectsInclusion/exclusion criteria for RA patientsCannot assess patient selection bias
Antibodies (WB)Dilutions for primary and secondary antibodiesCannot reproduce Western blots
Antibodies (IF)Dilutions for primary and secondary antibodiesCannot reproduce immunofluorescence
Antibodies (IHC)Specific antibodies, vendors, catalog #, dilutionsCannot reproduce IHC (delegated to core facility)
RNAscopeProbe list (Table 2)Cannot verify probe identity
ELISAKit vendor, catalog #, protocolCannot reproduce ELISA
ChemicalsEntrectinib and larotrectinib concentrations in explant experimentsCannot reproduce drug treatment experiments
siRNATarget sequencesCannot verify specificity or assess off-targets
CRISPRGuide RNA sequences and knockout validationCannot verify NOTCH3 knockout
XeniumData repository and accession numberCannot access raw spatial transcriptomics data
Bulk RNA-seqPlatform, library prep, depth, reference genome, alignment tool, repository accessionCannot reproduce or access RNA-seq analysis
qPCR primersPrimer sequences (Table 1)Cannot verify primer design or specificity
MicroscopyObjective NA, detector type, fluorophore assignments (RNAscope)Cannot reproduce imaging conditions
MicroscopyPrimary/secondary antibody dilutions (IF, IHC)Cannot reproduce imaging
Collagen assayGel composition, collagen vendor, cell density, culture duration, quantification methodCannot reproduce contractility assay

Summary of SOFT Missing Items

CategoryItemImpact
SoftwareR version for single-cell analysisMinor reproducibility impact
Cell cultureSynovial fibroblast RRIDTraceability reduced
Cell cultureHUVEC RRID and Thermofisher catalog #Traceability reduced
Human subjectsParticipant demographics (age, sex, disease duration)Cannot assess cohort characteristics
ChemicalsFinal vehicle concentration (DMSO %) in mediaMinor reproducibility impact
MicroscopyObjective NA, detector type (IF, IHC)Minor reproducibility impact
MicroscopyImage quantification methodsMinor reproducibility impact

Summary of UNVERIFIABLE Items

CategoryItemReason
Antibodies (WB)TrkA/TrkB antibody sampler kit (#4638)Catalog # refers to a kit; individual clone/host not stated in manuscript
RNAscopeProbe list (Table 2)Table not provided in manuscript text
XeniumCustom panel gene composition (Tables S1–S3)Tables not provided in manuscript text
qPCR primersPrimer sequences (Table 1)Table not provided in manuscript text
Bulk RNA-seqAnalysis pipeline and raw dataNo repository accession; methods severely under-specified
IHCSpecific antibodies and protocolsDelegated to institutional core facility; not traceable from manuscript
CRISPRGuide RNA design tool output"Synthego design tool" mentioned but no sequences provided

Overall Assessment

Data Availability: No explicit statement on where Xenium spatial transcriptomics data, bulk RNA-seq data, or processed datasets will be deposited. This is a HARD missing for a manuscript heavily reliant on high-dimensional omics data.

Code Availability: No statement on availability of custom analysis code (Seurat integration, UCell scoring, spatial analysis pipelines). This is a HARD missing for computational work.

Reproducibility Bottlenecks:

  1. In vitro experiments: Biological replicate numbers not stated for Figures 3, 4, 5, 6, and supplementary figures. Cannot determine statistical power or reproduce exact experimental design.
  2. Antibody protocols: Dilutions missing for Western blotting, immunofluorescence, and immunohistochemistry. IHC delegated to institutional core without traceable antibody identities.
  3. Omics data: Xenium data not deposited (no accession). Bulk RNA-seq severely under-specified (no platform, depth, reference genome, alignment tool, or repository). Custom panel composition (Tables S1–S3) not provided.
  4. Molecular tools: siRNA target sequences, CRISPR guide RNA sequences, and qPCR primer sequences not provided (Tables 1–2 not shown).
  5. Drug experiments: Entrectinib and larotrectinib concentrations not explicitly stated for key explant experiments (Figure 6).

Strengths:

  • Xenium platform and analysis tools (Seurat, Harmony, UCell) well-specified with versions.
  • Neurotrophin and inhibitor vendors and catalog numbers generally provided.
  • Human subjects IRB approval documented.
  • Statistical tests and error bar definitions clearly stated.

← All documents in this review