Patch-Clamp Single-Cell Proteomics in Acute Brain Slices: A Framework for Recording, Retrieval, and Interpretation

Methods completeness

Major revisionpanel verdict · 2026-09-01

Methods Completeness & Reagent Traceability Audit

Patch-Clamp Single-Cell Proteomics in Acute Brain Slices


CROSS-CUTTING ITEMS

Sample Size & Replication

  • Status: PRESENT (with caveats)
    • n=12 neurons total explicitly stated in Results ("Comprehensive Neuron Retrieval" section and Figure 5A).
    • n=3 neurons for gigaseal-preservation study (Figure 3D correlation analysis).
    • n=6 neurons for in situ recordings vs. protein identifications analysis (Figure 5C–D).
    • What n represents: individual neurons (biological replicates), not technical replicates.
    • CAVEAT (SOFT): No power calculation or justification for sample size provided. Authors acknowledge "limited sample size" in Limitations section but do not justify why n=12 is adequate for exploratory work or state whether this was predetermined.

Statistical Tests & Error Representation

  • Status: PRESENT (with gaps)
    • Gigaseal-preserved correlation (Figure 3D): F-statistic, p-value, adjusted R², regression equation provided. ✓
    • In situ recordings vs. protein IDs (Figure 5C–D): "p > 0.05, n=6" stated; no F or R² given. ✓ (though minimal)
    • SynGO enrichment: Q-value < 0.05 threshold stated; no multiple-testing correction method named explicitly (SOFT).
    • PCA (Figure 6A): method not specified; no variance explained reported (SOFT).
    • HARD MISSING: Error bars on figures (Figures 3C ladder plots, 4A action potentials) — no statement of what they represent (SD/SEM/CI) or whether they are present at all.

Software, Tool & Instrument Versions

  • Status: MOSTLY PRESENT
    • Electrophysiology: Multiclamp 700B amplifier, Digidata 1440A, pClamp10 (version not stated; SOFT). NeuroExpress v19.4.09 ✓
    • Mass spectrometry: Orbitrap Astral (instrument model ✓); Vanquish Neo UHPLC (✓); IonOpticks Aurora XS column (✓).
    • Bioinformatics:
      • DIA-NN v1.8.1 ✓
      • UniProt Mus musculus reference proteome (download date: 2024; SOFT: no specific build/version number given)
      • R 4.3.1 ✓
      • Packages: ComplexHeatmap, ggplot2, UpSetR (versions NOT stated; SOFT)
      • SynGO (no version stated; SOFT)
    • HARD MISSING: pClamp10 version number.
    • SOFT MISSING: R package versions; SynGO version/download date; UniProt build identifier.

Data Availability

  • Status: PRESENT
    • Raw MS data and search files: ProteomeXchange (PXD068359) and MassIVE (MSV000099156) ✓
    • Supplementary tables (protein-level DIA-NN output, SynGO output): stated as available in Supporting Information ✓
    • Videos of patch-SCP attempts: Zenodo (DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.18189812) ✓
    • Custom analysis scripts: GitHub repository URL provided (https://github.com/LarryThePharmacologist) ✓

Code Availability

  • Status: PRESENT
    • Custom scripts for figure generation and SynGO-based analysis: GitHub repository cited ✓
    • SOFT MISSING: No statement of license, documentation, or whether repository is currently public/accessible.

CONDITIONAL CATEGORIES

Model Organisms / In Vivo (TRIGGERED: acute brain slices from rats)

HARD Items:
  • Species, strain, source: Wistar rats, Charles River ✓
  • Age: 75 days ✓
  • Sex: NOT STATED ✗ (HARD MISSING)
  • n per group: n=12 neurons total; no breakdown by sex or other grouping ✓ (stated but not stratified)
  • IACUC protocol #: Protocol no. 09-0006 ✓
  • Randomization/blinding statement: NOT STATED ✗ (HARD MISSING — no statement that neuron selection was random or that analysis was blinded)
  • Genotype/background: Wild-type (implied); not explicitly stated ✗ (SOFT MISSING)
SOFT Items:
  • Housing: NOT STATED (SOFT MISSING)
  • Power justification: NOT PROVIDED (SOFT MISSING); authors acknowledge "limited sample size" but do not justify it prospectively.

Chemicals / Drugs / Dosing (TRIGGERED: internal solution, cutting solution, aCSF, reagents)

HARD Items:

Cutting solution (ice-cold high-sucrose):

  • Sucrose 206 mM ✓
  • KCl 2.5 mM ✓
  • CaCl₂ 0.5 mM ✓
  • MgCl₂ 7 mM ✓
  • NaH₂PO₄ 1.2 mM ✓
  • NaHCO₃ 26 mM ✓
  • Glucose 5 mM ✓
  • HEPES 5 mM ✓
  • Vendor/catalog #: NOT STATED (SOFT MISSING)

aCSF (95% O₂/5% CO₂ equilibrated):

  • NaCl 130 mM ✓
  • KCl 3.5 mM ✓
  • NaH₂PO₄ 1.25 mM ✓
  • MgSO₄·7H₂O 1.5 mM ✓
  • CaCl₂ 2.0 mM ✓
  • NaHCO₃ 24 mM ✓
  • Glucose 10 mM ✓
  • Vendor/catalog #: NOT STATED (SOFT MISSING)

Internal solution (patch pipette):

  • KGluconate 145 mM ✓
  • EGTA 0.5 mM ✓
  • MgCl₂ 2 mM ✓
  • HEPES 10 mM ✓
  • Mg-ATP 2 mM ✓
  • Na-GTP 0.2 mM ✓
  • Vendor/catalog #: NOT STATED (SOFT MISSING)

Sample processing reagents:

  • n-dodecyl-β-D-maltoside (DDM) 0.02% in UHPLC-grade water ✓ (concentration and vehicle stated)
  • Vendor/catalog #: NOT STATED (SOFT MISSING)
  • Sequencing-grade Trypsin, 7 ng per sample, Promega ✓
  • Formic acid 0.1% ✓
  • Vendor/catalog #for formic acid: NOT STATED (SOFT MISSING)

Negative pressure during retrieval: −50 to −140 mmHg (range stated; SOFT: no justification for range or how it was optimized per neuron).

SOFT Items:
  • Vendor/catalog # for all reagents: MOSTLY MISSING (only Promega trypsin identified)
  • Preparation/storage conditions for solutions: NOT STATED

Mass Spectrometry (Proteomics) (TRIGGERED: DIA-MS analysis)

HARD Items:

Instrument & acquisition:

  • Instrument: Orbitrap Astral ✓
  • Acquisition mode: DIA (data-independent acquisition) ✓
  • FAIMS Pro with single compensation voltage (CV = −50) ✓
  • Survey scans: 240,000 resolution at m/z 200, 400–1000 m/z range ✓
  • DIA windows: 20 m/z wide with overlapping edges ✓
  • MS1 AGC target: 800%, max injection time 50 ms ✓
  • Fragmentation: HCD, NCE 25 ✓

Sample preparation/digestion:

  • Lysis: 0.02% DDM in UHPLC-grade water ✓
  • Digestion: 7 ng sequencing-grade Trypsin (Promega), 37°C, 2 hours ✓
  • Quenching: 2 µL 0.1% formic acid ✓
  • HARD MISSING: No statement of protein quantification before digestion (e.g., BCA, Bradford). Cannot verify that 7 ng trypsin was appropriate for unknown protein input.
  • HARD MISSING: No mention of sample cleanup, desalting, or concentration steps between digestion and LC-MS.

Chromatography:

  • Column: 25 cm × 75 µm IonOpticks Aurora XS with integrated emitter ✓
  • Gradient: 36-minute gradient at 400 nL/min ✓
  • HARD MISSING: Solvent composition (A/B), gradient profile (% B vs. time), temperature not stated.
  • HARD MISSING: Column lot/batch number not stated.

Search engine & database:

  • Search engine: DIA-NN v1.8.1 ✓
  • Mode: library-free ✓
  • Match-between-runs: enabled ✓
  • Database: UniProt Mus musculus reference proteome (downloaded 2024) ✓
  • HARD MISSING: Specific UniProt release/build number (e.g., 2024-01, 2024-02).

Search parameters:

  • Variable modification: oxidation ✓
  • Missed cleavages: up to 2 ✓
  • Decoy generation: reversed-sequence ✓
  • HARD MISSING: Precursor mass tolerance (ppm or Da).
  • HARD MISSING: Fragment mass tolerance.
  • HARD MISSING: Enzyme specificity (assumed trypsin; not explicitly stated in search params).

FDR & filtering:

  • FDR threshold: 1% at precursor and protein-group level ✓
  • Retention: protein groups in DIA-NN's report.pg_matrix.tsv ✓
  • SOFT MISSING: How many peptides per protein required for identification (minimum peptide count).

Quantification:

  • Method: MaxLFQ (DIA-NN implementation) ✓
  • SOFT MISSING: Normalization method (e.g., median, quantile).

Data repository:

  • ProteomeXchange: PXD068359 ✓
  • MassIVE: MSV000099156 ✓
SOFT Items:
  • Solvent composition and gradient profile: NOT STATED
  • Column lot/batch: NOT STATED
  • Precursor/fragment mass tolerances: NOT STATED
  • Minimum peptide count per protein: NOT STATED
  • Quantification normalization: NOT STATED

Genomics / Sequencing / Omics (TRIGGERED: DIA-MS proteomics analysis)

HARD Items:
  • Platform & mode: Orbitrap Astral, DIA ✓
  • Library-prep equivalent: DIA-NN library-free mode ✓
  • Depth/coverage: Total protein identifications per neuron reported (range ~1400–2300 proteins; Figure 5A) ✓; no statement of peptide-level depth or coverage uniformity.
  • Reference genome/database: UniProt Mus musculus (2024 download) ✓; HARD MISSING: specific build/release number.
  • Alignment/analysis tools WITH versions: DIA-NN v1.8.1 ✓; R 4.3.1 ✓; SynGO (version NOT stated); ComplexHeatmap, ggplot2, UpSetR (versions NOT stated).
  • Repository accession: PXD068359, MSV000099156 ✓
SOFT Items:
  • QC thresholds: 1% FDR stated; no other QC metrics (e.g., mass accuracy, retention-time prediction accuracy) reported.
  • Batch handling: NOT DISCUSSED (SOFT MISSING); no statement of whether neurons were processed in batches or randomized order.

Microscopy / Imaging (TRIGGERED: DIC imaging during patch-clamp and retrieval)

HARD Items:
  • Instrument model: NOT STATED ✗ (HARD MISSING — microscope used for DIC imaging not identified)
  • Objective + NA + detector + settings: NOT STATED ✗ (HARD MISSING)
  • Fluorophore ↔ marker panel: Not applicable (DIC only, no fluorescence).
  • Analysis/gating software WITH version: NOT APPLICABLE (qualitative visual assessment only; no automated image analysis).
  • Full gating strategy: NOT APPLICABLE.
SOFT Items:
  • Magnification, working distance: NOT STATED

Videos (Supporting Information):

  • Four videos of soma retrieval provided (Zenodo DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.18189812) ✓
  • SOFT MISSING: Video resolution, frame rate, duration not stated in manuscript.

Computational / ML / Modeling (TRIGGERED: PCA, GO enrichment, correlation analysis)

HARD Items:

PCA (Figure 6A):

  • Dataset: All 12 neurons' proteomes (protein-level DIA-NN output) ✓
  • Algorithm: PCA (standard; no custom implementation stated) ✓
  • Hyperparameters: NOT STATED (e.g., scaling method, number of components retained, centering) ✗ (HARD MISSING)
  • Software/version: R 4.3.1 ✓; specific package (e.g., prcomp, FactoMineR) NOT STATED ✗ (HARD MISSING)
  • Training/validation split: NOT APPLICABLE (unsupervised exploratory analysis).
  • Code availability: GitHub repository cited ✓

Correlation analysis (Figures 3D, 5C–D):

  • Dataset: n=3 (gigaseal-preserved) and n=6 (in situ recordings) neurons ✓
  • Algorithm: Linear regression (log-transformed capacitance vs. protein IDs; Figure 3D) ✓
  • Hyperparameters: None (standard linear model).
  • Software: R (version 4.3.1 stated for general analysis; specific function not named) ✓
  • Code availability: GitHub repository cited ✓

Gene Ontology / SynGO enrichment (Figures 4B–C, 6B, S2–S3):

  • Dataset: Per-neuron protein lists (detected/not detected after 1% FDR filtering) ✓
  • Algorithm: GSEA (Gene Set Enrichment Analysis) ✓
  • Database: SynGO (manually curated synaptic GO ontology) ✓
  • Hyperparameters: Q-value < 0.05 threshold ✓; HARD MISSING: GSEA algorithm variant (e.g., weighted, unweighted), permutation count, ranking metric.
  • Software/version: SynGO (version NOT STATED) ✗; R 4.3.1 ✓; packages ComplexHeatmap, ggplot2, UpSetR (versions NOT STATED) ✗
  • Code availability: GitHub repository cited ✓
SOFT Items:
  • PCA: variance explained per component NOT REPORTED
  • GSEA: permutation count, ranking metric NOT STATED
  • Batch effects: NOT DISCUSSED
  • Random seeds: NOT STATED (not applicable for deterministic methods, but relevant for any stochastic steps in GSEA or PCA initialization)

Electrophysiology (TRIGGERED: patch-clamp recordings)

HARD Items:

Recording configuration:

  • Whole-cell patch-clamp in acute brain slices ✓
  • Current-clamp and voltage-clamp modes ✓
  • Amplifier: Multiclamp 700B ✓
  • Digitizer: Digidata 1440A ✓
  • Software: pClamp10 (version NOT STATED) ✗ (HARD MISSING)

Electrode preparation:

  • Patch pipettes: 3–6 MΩ resistance ✓
  • Internal solution composition: fully specified ✓
  • HARD MISSING: Pipette pulling parameters (puller model, heat/pull/velocity settings) not stated; cannot reproduce electrode fabrication.

Stimulation protocol:

  • Current-clamp step protocol: 500 ms hyperpolarizing and depolarizing steps in 5 or 10 pA increments ✓
  • Holding potential: −70 mV ✓
  • SOFT MISSING: Temperature during recording not explicitly stated (implied room temperature for some, 37°C for initial incubation).

Data analysis:

  • Software: NeuroExpress v19.4.09 ✓
  • Passive properties extracted: capacitance (C), membrane resistance (RM), resting membrane potential (VM), membrane time constant (τM) ✓
  • SOFT MISSING: Specific equations or fitting procedures for extracting these parameters not detailed (delegated to NeuroExpress reference [15]).

Soma retrieval:

  • Negative pressure: −50 to −140 mmHg ✓
  • SOFT MISSING: Criteria for adjusting pressure within this range not specified; optimization procedure not described.
SOFT Items:
  • Pipette pulling parameters: NOT STATED
  • Recording temperature: NOT EXPLICITLY STATED (implied room temperature; 37°C for initial incubation)
  • Sampling rate/filter frequency: NOT STATED

Protocol Provenance (Delegated Methods)

Electrophysiology protocol: "Acute brain slices and electrophysiological recordings were performed as previously described [10, 26–31]."

  • References cited: [10] Patel et al. 2024 (Neurobiol Stress); [26] Rodriguez et al. 2022 (Int J Mol Sci); [27] Vlkolinsky et al. 2024 (Neurobiol Dis); [28] Varodayan et al. 2023 (Brain Behav Immun); [29] Athanason et al. 2023 (Neurobiol Stress); [30] Anjos-Santos et al. 2025 (in press); [31] Guo et al. 2025 (Nature).
  • Status: DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE (all references appear to be published or in-press; DOIs/PMIDs resolvable in principle). ✓
  • Caveat: Manuscript does not state which specific reference contains the full protocol or whether all six references describe identical procedures. Readers would need to consult multiple papers.
  • Deviation statement: "Briefly, rats were anesthetized with isoflurane before cervical dislocation and surgical brain isolation. Coronal mPFC slices (300 µm) were prepared..." — this provides some detail, reducing reliance on the cited protocol. ✓

Passive property analysis: "NeuroExpress software (version 19.4.09.) developed and provided by A. Szücs was used for analysis [15]."

  • Reference [15]: Szücs, A. NeuroExpress program for analyzing patch-clamp data. ResearchGate, 2022.
  • Status: DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE but UNVERIFIABLE from manuscript alone (ResearchGate is not a peer-reviewed repository; no DOI or PMID; cannot confirm contents without accessing ResearchGate directly). ⚠️
  • Severity: SOFT (the software is named and versioned; a competent lab could locate it, but the reference is non-standard).

SynGO analysis: "Gene set enrichment analyses were performed on gene lists derived from DIA-NN's protein-level output. For SynGO analysis, proteins were annotated based on gene symbols and GSEA filtering was performed under stringent conditions."

  • Reference [16]: Koopmans et al. 2019 (Neuron, 103(2): 217–234.e4).
  • Status: DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE (peer-reviewed publication; DOI resolvable). ✓
  • Caveat: Manuscript does not specify which GSEA algorithm variant (weighted/unweighted), permutation count, or ranking metric was used. "Stringent conditions" is vague.

Ion channel/GPCR/transporter annotation: "Ion channel, GPCR, and transporter annotation lists were generated using curated gene families from SynGO [16] and IUPHAR-DB [17, 18]."

  • References [17, 18]: Alexander et al. 2019 and 2023 (British Journal of Pharmacology).
  • Status: DELEGATED-RESOLVABLE (peer-reviewed; DOI resolvable). ✓
  • Caveat: Manuscript does not state how lists were curated (e.g., which gene families were selected, whether all entries were used or filtered by expression level/tissue specificity).

SUMMARY TABLE

CategoryItemStatusSeverityNotes
Cross-cuttingSample size n & what it representsPresent—n=12 neurons; no power justification (SOFT)
Statistical tests & error representationPartialHARDError bars on figures not explained; SynGO Q-value method not named
Software/tool versionsPartialHARDpClamp10 version missing; R package versions missing; SynGO version missing
Data availabilityPresent—ProteomeXchange, MassIVE, Zenodo, GitHub all cited
Code availabilityPresent—GitHub repository cited
Model organismsSpecies, strain, source, agePresent—Wistar rats, Charles River, 75 days ✓
SexMissingHARDNot stated ✗
IACUC protocol #Present—09-0006 ✓
Randomization/blindingMissingHARDNot stated ✗
Genotype/backgroundMissingSOFTWild-type implied but not explicit
HousingMissingSOFTNot stated
Power justificationMissingSOFTNot provided
Chemicals/drugsCutting solution compositionPresent—All components & concentrations stated ✓
aCSF compositionPresent—All components & concentrations stated ✓
Internal solution compositionPresent—All components & concentrations stated ✓
Vendor/catalog # for reagentsMissingSOFTOnly Promega trypsin identified; others missing
Sample prep reagents (DDM, formic acid)PartialSOFTConcentrations stated; vendors missing
Mass spectrometryInstrument & acquisition modePresent—Orbitrap Astral, DIA, all key params stated ✓
Sample prep/digestionPartialHARDLysis, digestion, quenching stated; protein quantification method missing; no desalting/cleanup step described
ChromatographyPartialHARDColumn type & gradient time stated; solvent composition & profile missing; column lot missing
Search engine & databasePartialHARDDIA-NN v1.8.1 ✓; UniProt 2024 ✓; specific build number missing
Search parametersPartialHARDModifications & missed cleavages stated; mass tolerances missing; enzyme specificity not explicit
FDR & filteringPresent—1% FDR at precursor & protein level ✓
Quantification methodPartialSOFTMaxLFQ stated; normalization method missing
Repository accessionPresent—PXD068359, MSV000099156 ✓
Genomics/omicsPlatform & modePresent—Orbitrap Astral, DIA ✓
Reference databasePartialHARDUniProt Mus musculus 2024 ✓; specific build missing
Analysis tools & versionsPartialHARDDIA-NN v1.8.1 ✓; R 4.3.1 ✓; SynGO version missing; R package versions missing
Repository accessionPresent—PXD068359, MSV000099156 ✓
QC thresholdsPartialSOFT1% FDR stated; other QC metrics missing
Batch handlingMissingSOFTNot discussed
MicroscopyInstrument modelMissingHARDDIC microscope not identified ✗
Objective, NA, detector, settingsMissingHARDNot stated ✗
Video metadataMissingSOFTResolution, frame rate, duration not stated
ComputationalPCA: hyperparametersMissingHARDScaling, centering, component count not stated ✗
PCA: software/packageMissingHARDR package name not stated ✗
Correlation analysis: algorithm & softwarePresent—Linear regression, R ✓
GSEA/SynGO: algorithm variantMissingHARDWeighted/unweighted, permutation count, ranking metric not stated ✗
GSEA/SynGO: software versionsMissingHARDSynGO version missing; R package versions missing ✗
Code availabilityPresent—GitHub repository cited ✓
ElectrophysiologyRecording configurationPresent—Whole-cell, current/voltage clamp, amplifier, digitizer ✓
Software versionMissingHARDpClamp10 version not stated ✗
Electrode parametersMissingHARDPipette pulling parameters not stated ✗
Stimulation protocolPresent—Step protocol, holding potential ✓
Data analysis softwarePresent—NeuroExpress v19.4.09 ✓
Recording temperatureMissingSOFTNot explicitly stated
Sampling rate/filterMissingSOFTNot stated
Protocol provenanceElectrophysiology delegationDelegated-resolvable—References [10, 26–31] cited; multiple papers; no single definitive source
NeuroExpress referenceDelegated-resolvableSOFTResearchGate (non-standard); no DOI/PMID
SynGO/GSEA delegationDelegated-resolvable—Peer-reviewed reference [16] ✓; specifics (algorithm variant, permutation count) not stated
Ion channel annotation delegationDelegated-resolvable—Peer-reviewed references [16–18] ✓; curation criteria not stated

CRITICAL GAPS (HARD MISSING)

  1. Rat sex — not stated; essential for reproducibility and biological interpretation.
  2. Randomization/blinding statement — no mention of whether neuron selection or analysis was randomized or blinded.
  3. Microscope instrument model — DIC imaging used throughout; instrument not identified.
  4. Microscope objective, NA, detector, settings — cannot reproduce imaging.
  5. Protein quantification method — no BCA, Bradford, or other assay mentioned before digestion; cannot verify that 7 ng trypsin was appropriate.
  6. Sample cleanup/desalting — no mention of post-digestion cleanup or concentration steps.
  7. LC-MS solvent composition & gradient profile — only gradient time (36 min) and flow rate (400 nL/min) stated; A/B solvents and % B vs. time missing.
  8. Precursor & fragment mass tolerances — not stated in search parameters.
  9. UniProt build/release number — only "2024" given; specific version (e.g., 2024-01) missing.
  10. pClamp10 version — software used but version not stated.
  11. Pipette pulling parameters — puller model, heat/pull/velocity settings not stated; cannot reproduce electrode fabrication.
  12. PCA hyperparameters — scaling, centering, number of components retained not stated.
  13. PCA software package — R function/package name not stated (e.g., prcomp, FactoMineR).
  14. GSEA algorithm variant & parameters — weighted/unweighted, permutation count, ranking metric not stated.
  15. SynGO version — no version or download date given.
  16. R package versions — ComplexHeatmap, ggplot2, UpSetR versions not stated.

  • Vendor/catalog # for most reagents (cutting solution, aCSF, internal solution, DDM, formic acid).
  • Genotype/background of rats (wild-type implied but not explicit).
  • Housing conditions for rats.
  • Power justification for sample size (n=12).
  • Recording temperature (implied room temperature; not explicit).
  • Sampling rate and filter frequency for electrophysiology.
  • Pipette pulling parameters (alternative: cite a standard protocol).
  • Column lot/batch number.
  • Minimum peptide count per protein identification.
  • Quantification normalization method (e.g., median, quantile).
  • QC metrics beyond 1% FDR (e.g., mass accuracy, retention-time prediction accuracy).
  • Batch handling / randomization of sample processing order.
  • PCA variance explained per component.
  • Video metadata (resolution, frame rate, duration).
  • GSEA permutation count and ranking metric.
  • Specific GSEA algorithm variant (weighted/unweighted).
  • Ion channel/GPCR/transporter curation criteria (which gene families selected, filtering by expression/tissue specificity).

UNVERIFIABLE (QUESTIONS FOR AUTHORS)

  1. NeuroExpress reference [15] — ResearchGate is not a standard scientific repository. Can authors provide a DOI, PMID, or institutional repository link, or confirm that the software is publicly available with documentation?
  2. Electrophysiology protocol references [10, 26–31] — which of these six papers contains the definitive protocol for slice preparation and recording? Are all six identical, or are there variations?
  3. UniProt 2024 build — which specific release (e.g., 2024-01, 2024-02, 2024-03) was used? This affects reproducibility of peptide-to-protein mapping.
  4. GitHub repository — is the repository currently public and accessible? Is there a specific commit hash or release tag that corresponds to this manuscript's analysis?

OVERALL ASSESSMENT

Completeness: ~65–70% for methods required to reproduce the work.

Blocking issues:

  • Rat sex not stated (HARD).
  • Microscope not identified (HARD).
  • Protein quantification method missing (HARD).
  • LC-MS solvent/gradient profile missing (HARD).
  • Mass tolerances missing (HARD).
  • Pipette pulling parameters missing (HARD).
  • PCA hyperparameters & software package missing (HARD).
  • GSEA algorithm details missing (HARD).
  • Multiple software versions missing (pClamp10, SynGO, R packages) (HARD).

Non-blocking but significant gaps:

  • Randomization/blinding not stated.
  • Sample cleanup/desalting not described.
  • UniProt build number not specified.
  • Recording temperature not explicit.
  • Power justification absent.

A competent lab could likely reproduce the mass spectrometry and bioinformatic analysis (data and code are deposited), but electrophysiology and microscopy details are insufficient for independent replication. The patch-clamp protocol is delegated to six prior papers without clear indication of which is primary, and critical details (rat sex, electrode fabrication, microscope specs) are missing.

← All documents in this review